Theta Alpha Kappa

TAK LogoAlpha Lambda Kappa

The National Honor Society For Religious Studies and Theology

Previous Members Post Graduate Studies

Ricky Harrison attending Duke Divinity School
Taylor Smith attending Duke Divinity School
Christi Brennan attending Princeton Theological Seminary
Matt Bell attending Perkins School of Theology
Seth Saathoff attending Princeton Theological Seminary
Sabrina Wegner pursing a Master in Psychology program at
Abilene Christian University

Theta Alpha Kappa (TAK) was established in 1976 at Manhattan College in Riverdale, New York for the purpose of recognizing the academic achievements of religion and theology students. The Greek letters in TAK stand for Theos – Anthropos – Koinonia to signify three primary areas of concern in the study of religion (God – Humanity -Community).

TAK exists to encourage, recognize, and maintain excellence in Religious and/or Theological Studies, and is the only national honor society serving the needs of those involved in the study of religion and/or theology at both the baccalaureate and post-baccalaureate levels of higher education. Induction requires nomination by a local chapter and, to be eligible, students must have a 3.5 GPA in Religious Studies and/or Theology and a 3.0 GPA overall.

Theta Alpha Kappa maintains a vigorous national program of scholarship awards and fellowship competitions; its primary publication, the Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa, offers an annual prize and the publication of outstanding student papers. McMurry’s Ricky Harrison received the albert Clark Award and was published in the Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa.

The Alpha Lambda Kappa (McMurry University’s chapter) was founded in 2012, and is still a relatively new society. Alpha Lambda Kappa plans activities to promote a greater sense of community among those who share an interest in the study of religion while developing lasting friendships with other religious studies students. Our chapter is also committed to local community service.

Past Officers

McKenzie Fergus - President 2015
Rebecca Williams - Vice President 2015
Carly Payne - President 2014
Taylor Smith - President 2012-2014
Ricky Harrison - Vice President 2012-2014


For More Information Contact
Dr. Bryan Stewart, Chair
Department of Religion and Philosophy
1 McMurry University #1028
Abilene, TX 79697

Office: Old Main 205B
Phone: 325-793-3899