Caring Professors

Personal Attention

Get personal attention from your professor at McMurry.

McMurry University


& dedication

McMurry professors attain the highest level of scholarship and collaboration with students.

McMurry University

Ten Pre-Professional


McMurry’s pre-professional programs prepare you for a future in the sciences and medicine.



McMurry professors balance the highest level of scholarship with a true dedication to teaching and collaboration with students. Our 20 academic departments offer 45 majors and 38 minors prepare students for success in any field of professional (or personal) endeavor. Offering a diverse academic curriculum students can choose from majors in the arts, business, education and the sciences as well as our pre-professional programs in medicine, dentistry, engineering, law, pharmacy, physical therapy and others.

McMurry's unique academic offerings include the Servant Leadership program and the Honors Program. The Servant Leadership program, an innovative and nationally-respected program promoting the leader as a servant first, prepares students to be strong, effective leaders who place service to the greater good of others before self. The Honors Program, a robust four-year honors track designed to enrich the college experience, guarantees a stimulating intellectual challenge. Honors courses, thesis research, and conference participation help honors students develop the skills, creative independence, and confidence necessary for success in graduate training and professional life as well as creating opportunities for students to present original research and creative work in an academic conference setting.

McMurry’s Core Values of Christian Faith as the foundation of life, Personal Relationships as the catalyst for life, Learning as the journey of life, Excellence as the goal of life and Service as the measure of life are the foundation on which the McMurry experience is built.

Academics Notables

Dr. Donald Frazier has won the twenty-first annual Daniel M. & Marilyn W. Laney Book Prize given by the Austin Civil War Round Table, Inc. The Daniel M. & Marilyn W. Laney Prize is awarded yearly by the Austin Civil War Round Table, Inc. for distinguished scholarship and writing on the military or political history of the Civil War. The winning work is Blood on the Bayou: Vicksburg, Port Hudson, and the Trans-Mississippi, the third volume of a planned four volume history of the Civil War in the Trans-Mississippi, published by State House Press. This is Frazier’s second award of the Laney Prize; the first prize was awarded to Frazier in 2010 for the first volume of the Trans-Mississippi quadrille, Fire in the Cane Field.

Biology faculty member Dr. Malaney O'Connell has received a travel grant from the Geographical Management of Cancer Health Disparities Program (GMaP), an initiative funded by the National Institutes of Health. Funding received will pay for travel, registration, and other expenses for Dr. O'Connell and a student to participate in the San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium, a conference focusing on breaking research in breast cancer causes and treatments. 

History professors Dr. Donald S. Frazier and Dr. Stephen L. Hardin have been named to the advisory committee for the prestigious Handbook of Texas, the monumental historical encyclopedia of all things related to Texas history and culture published by the Texas State Historical Association. This venerable reference work has been around since 1952, with major updates in 1972 and 1996. The latest print edition has more than 23,000 entries.  

Political Science Assistant Professor Dr. Joel Olufowote has accepted the final return invitation to participate as Program Advisor to the Study of the United States Summer Institute exchange program, organized and funded through the United States State Department Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. This is his seventh year working with the program and third constructed as a sub-grant opportunity with McMurry University.

At its annual summer meeting, the National Association of Schools and Colleges of The United Methodist Church elected McMurry University President Dr. Sandra Harper to the University Senate for the 2017-2020 quadrennium.  

The senate is composed of twenty-seven voting members who, at the time of election, are actively engaged in the work of education through employment in an educational institution and are fitted by training and experience for the technical work of evaluating educational institutions. Approval by the senate is a prerequisite to institutional claim of affiliation with The United Methodist Church. To qualify for affiliation with The United Methodist Church, institutions must maintain appropriate academic accreditation. 119 institutions across the country currently are listed with The University Senate as having an affiliation with The United Methodist Church.

Student Notables

Three senior art students, Yoleny Palacios ’17, Spencer Collins ’17, and Kayme Conway ’17, attended the Texas Association of Schools of Art Conference in Alpine and Marfa, Texas, with their art professor Kathie Walker-Millar in October.

Both Kathie Walker-Millar and Yoleny Palacios exhibited their art in a gallery in Marfa. The group toured the Chinati Foundation, Marfa art galleries and Julie Speed Studio. They also attended a glass workshop and lectures. The students met with professors from several graduate art programs.

Political science major Thierry Tchenko ’17 has been selected to participate in the 2016 Values & Capitalism Summer Honors Program in Washington DC. Tchenko will attend the Christian Faith and Politics track led by famed professor and scholar Dr. Amy Black from Wheaton College.

Biomedical Science senior Payden Dompe '17 has been accepted into the Master's of Physician Assistant program at Trivecca Nazarene University in Nashville, Tennessee. Over 1,000 applicants will be interviewed for the 50 seats in their incoming class. 

Music Education major Kenny Mostert ’17, of Abilene, Texas, advanced to the semi-final round of the undergraduate solo division in the 2016 National Trumpet Competition. Mostert’s recording was selected as one of 40 semi-finalists out of hundreds of entries.

The McMurry University Model UN team won two awards at the National Model UN-Japan conference held November 20-26, 2016.

Representing Portugal and Spain, McMurry’s Model UN team won a delegation award for sponsoring numerous working papers and draft resolutions. Senior sociology major Quintin Gorman, representing Portugal in the General Assembly, also won an Outstanding Position Paper Award for his recommendations on establishing a Fissile Material Cut-Off Treaty as a response to mitigating the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction.

The Model UN delegates were fêted by actual UN and Japanese leaders during the conference. The Secretary-General of the United Nations – Ban Ki-Moon – delivered a message of welcome to the Model UN delegates, and the mayor of Kobe, Kizō Hisamoto, spoke at the conference’s opening ceremony. The conference proceedings were covered by 14 different newspapers across Japan, and the City of Kobe also hosted the Economic and Social Council committee in its City Hall chambers during the final morning session. All delegates were given one minute to speak before the assembly, which was aired live on TV in Kobe.