• Academics at McMurry
  • Academics at McMurry
  • Academics at McMurry


McMurry professors balance the highest level of scholarship with a true dedication to teaching and collaboration with students. Our 20 academic departments offer 45 majors and 38 minors prepare students for success in any field of professional (or personal) endeavor. Offering a diverse academic curriculum students can choose from majors in the arts, business, education and the sciences as well as our pre-professional programs in medicine, dentistry, engineering, law, pharmacy, physical therapy and others.

McMurry's unique academic offerings include the Servant Leadership program and the Honors Program. The Servant Leadership program, an innovative and nationally-respected program promoting the leader as a servant first, prepares students to be strong, effective leaders who place service to the greater good of others before self. The Honors Program, a robust four-year honors track designed to enrich the college experience, guarantees a stimulating intellectual challenge. Honors courses, thesis research, and conference participation help honors students develop the skills, creative independence, and confidence necessary for success in graduate training and professional life as well as creating opportunities for students to present original research and creative work in an academic conference setting.

McMurry’s Core Values of Christian Faith as the foundation of life, Personal Relationships as the catalyst for life, Learning as the journey of life, Excellence as the goal of life and Service as the measure of life are the foundation on which the McMurry experience is built.

Academics Notables

Dr. Donald Frazier has won the twenty-first annual Daniel M. & Marilyn W. Laney Book Prize given by the Austin Civil War Round Table, Inc. The Daniel M. & Marilyn W. Laney Prize is awarded yearly by the Austin Civil War Round Table, Inc. for distinguished scholarship and writing on the military or political history of the Civil War. The winning work is Blood on the Bayou: Vicksburg, Port Hudson, and the Trans-Mississippi, the third volume of a planned four volume history of the Civil War in the Trans-Mississippi, published by State House Press. This is Frazier’s second award of the Laney Prize; the first prize was awarded to Frazier in 2010 for the first volume of the Trans-Mississippi quadrille, Fire in the Cane Field.

As the United Nations prepares for the election of a new Secretary-General, Political Science Professor Dr. Tina Bertrand is one of four global experts asked to provide input into the election process by the non-governmental organization (NGO) 1 for 7 Billion Campaign.

History professors Dr. Donald S. Frazier and Dr. Stephen L. Hardin have been named to the advisory committee for the prestigious Handbook of Texas, the monumental historical encyclopedia of all things related to Texas history and culture published by the Texas State Historical Association. This venerable reference work has been around since 1952, with major updates in 1972 and 1996. The latest print edition has more than 23,000 entries.  

Political Science Assistant Professor Dr. Joel Olufowote has accepted the final return invitation to participate as Program Advisor to the Study of the United States Summer Institute exchange program, organized and funded through the United States State Department Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. This is his seventh year working with the program and third constructed as a sub-grant opportunity with McMurry University.

Art Professor Kathie Walker-Millar has been named the 2015 winner of the Higher Education Division Outstanding Art Educator Award from the Texas Art Education Association (TAEA). 

Student Notables

Ashlea Beckner `17, current awareness officer of the McMurry Student Foundation, was recently selected to be a district representative for a national organization. The Council for Advancement and Support of Education, Affiliated Student Advancement Programs (CASE ASAP) strives to foster and enhance student involvement in all areas of advancement—from alumni relations and communications to fundraising, marketing and related areas.

Political science major Thierry Tchenko ’17 has been selected to participate in the 2016 Values & Capitalism Summer Honors Program in Washington DC. Tchenko will attend the Christian Faith and Politics track led by famed professor and scholar Dr. Amy Black from Wheaton College.

Shelby Holiday Williams ’16, of Bedford, Texas, has been accepted into the fall cohort group for the Doctorate of Physical Therapy program at Texas Women’s University.

McMurry University’s Model UN students continued their record of excellence at this year’s national conference in New York City. Representing the delegation of Cyprus, political science majors Doug Alldredge ’16 and Tereza Sliter ’16, physics and mathematics major Kirk Hodel ’17, and business and finance major Samuel Perrone ’18, were awarded with a “Distinguished Delegation” performance, the highest delegation level of recognition received in New York over the last three years. 

Music Education major Kenny Mostert ’17, of Abilene, Texas, advanced to the semi-final round of the undergraduate solo division in the 2016 National Trumpet Competition. Mostert’s recording was selected as one of 40 semi-finalists out of hundreds of entries.

 The McMurry University Model UN team won recognition in this year’s National Model United Nations Conference- Europe held in Olomouc, Czech Republic. Political Science majors Mathew Brown ’16, Douglas Alldredge ’16, Charles Hunter Ward ’17 and Tereza Sliter ’16, and Physics and Mathematics major Kirk Hodel ’16 represented McMurry as the delegation of Nigeria at the conference.